Overview of German

The German Language

Germany, Belgium, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Liechtenstein are the list of the territorial entities where German is an official language. It includes countries, which have German as one of their nationwide official languages, as well as dependent territories with German as a co-official language.The three major German-speaking countries are Germany, Austria and Switzerland which is commonly denoted as the DACH-area. In the two Slovak villages total population of 530,the percentage of ethnic Germans exceeds 20%, therefore there make a German as their co-official language according to Slovak law. However, due to the size of the villages and the approximate number of native German speakers,the administrative impact is negligible.

hot topics & other handy sites

Copyright (C)2021Overview of German.All rights reserved.